Madam X - Truemetal.it 80/100   Per lungo tempo i Madam X di Detroit sono stati ricordati solo per essere stata la band di Roxy Petrucci prima del suo ingresso nelle Vixen. Fino al 2006/'07, quando rispettivamente Majestic Rock e Lost Gems ristampano su CD "We Reserve The Right", unico album pubblicato dal quartetto in carriera, e improvvisamente una pezzetto di audience (all'epoca troppo giovane) realizza che i Madam X erano un gruppo dotato di dignità propria e con capacità tutt'altro che disprezzabili. Non so se vi sia mai passato sotto mano "We Reserve The Right" ma dovreste proprio farci un pensierino perché è un gran bell'album, che poco o niente ha a che vedere con le Vixen e che lasciava presagire un futuro assolutamente radioso e "possibile" per la band. Come poi siano andate effettivamente le cose non so, se sia bastata la sola defezione della Petrucci a dissolvere la bolla di buoni propositi o se sia pesato anche dell'altro (un Kaiser dimissionario sostituito da un certo Sebastian Bach...) non è dato sapere, ma poco importa visto che oggi i Madam X sono tornati e nella stessa identica formazione di allora, ovvero le sorelle Petruci (Maxine alla chitarra e Roxy alla batteria), Chris Doliber al basso e Bret Kaiser al microfono.     Un solo album nel curriculum e 33 anni di pausa.... è lecito aspettarsi realisticamente qualcosa di positivo da questa reunion? Certo, il fatto che "We Reserve The Right" fosse ottimo è perlomeno un indizio col segno più, ma il senso di incognita è più che giustificato. Ordunque: gioite, celebrate, fate baldoria, addobbate le casse del vostro stereo con luci e festoni, i Madam X hanno sfornato un disco altrettanto appetitoso quanto il suo precedessore. Senza tanto clamore mediatico né un prezioso blasone da onorare e difendere, i combattivi Madam X sbucano fuori dal nulla - sotto l'egida della EMP di Dave Ellefson e coadiuvati da Michael Wagener (Megadeth, Metallica, Skid Row, Ozzy Osbourne) e Mark Slaughter per produzione e mixing - e piazzano 11 bordate clamorose, con annesso recupero della hit "High In High School" che già aveva fatto sconquassi nella scaletta del 1984. Impressionante il livello qualitativo del nuovo disco, scandito da un pezzo migliore dell'altro in un crescendo di qualità francamente inaspettato, considerando le scarse premesse.     Nitrous", "Big Rocks Rolls Heavy", "Resurrection", "Die Trying", la stessa title track, sono esplosive, irresistibili, potenza che non conosce briglie. C'è spazio per un saluto anche ad un paio di palchi caldi, evidentemente cari ai Madam X, quelli della natìa Detroit ("Detroit Black") e Cleveland ("Hello Cleveland"). "Bride Of Frankenstein" è una canzone particolare e sui generis, che acquista sfumature complesse e eterodosse, al punto che non sarebbe blasfemia accostarla a certe esperienze vintage-occulte dei Death SS. "Detroit Black", non solo per il titolo, evoca eco dei Kiss, mentre la più romantica "Wish You Away" si fa carico dell'eredità dei Motley Crue di "Theatre Of Pain". Quello che stuzzica dei Madam X è la molteplicità di personalità, la variegatura dei gusti, la naturale predisposizione a spaziare tra anime e generi. Di base il retroterra è quello glam/hair metal losangelino, ma i Madam X pestano sull'acceleratore trasformando quell'eredità in qualcosa di maledettamente più heavy e robusto, talvolta persino lambendo territori ai limiti del thrash. Sono forti, sono poderosi, sono virilissimi (nonostante la presenza di due "signorine" in formazione....o magari proprio per quello, Roxy Petrucci è una con cui non vorrei affatto litigare!). Gli assoli di chitarra spesso e volentieri fanno centro, il drumming è un portento, Kaiser è un interprete invidiabile, insomma l'amalgama funziona a dovere e non c'è un solo minuto di questo album che non valga la pena di essere ascoltato ed apprezzato.     E' trascorso oltre un trentennio ma i Madam X non hanno da prendere lezioni da nessuno, semmai possono impartirne qualcuna. Nel 2014 si sono riformati in occasione dello Sweden Rock Festival e a quanto pare tutte le intenzioni hanno fuorché quella di vivacchiare e acchiappare qualche gonzo con la fregola della mera nostalgia. Qua si fa del metal bello tosto e agguerrito. Non si lesina sul songwriting né tantomeno su grinta, impegno e passione. Perseveranza e talento vanno premiati, e ne avete finalmente l'occasione; si tratta solo di lasciar perdere qualche nome di gran calibro assai più bollito dei Madam X e tributare merito e rispetto a chi dimostra di avere ancora tutte le carte in regola per battagliare su qualsiasi terreno. Per me tra le migliori uscite del 2017. Marco Tripodi   http://www.truemetal.it/recensioni/monstrocity-94508 TRANSLATED;  For a long time Madam X of Detroit was only remembered for being the band of Roxy Petrucci before joining Vixen. Until 2006 / '07, when Majestic Rock and Lost Gems re-release on CD "We Reserve The Right", the only album released by the career quartet, and suddenly a few audiences (at that time too young) realize that Madam X they were a group with their own dignity and with nothing else but despicable. I do not know if it's ever been hand in hand "We Reserve The Right"but you should just think about it because it's a great album, which has little or nothing to do with the Vixen and that it would presuppose an absolutely radiant and "possible" future for the band. How did they actually do things I do not know if Petrucci's defeat was enough to dissolve the bubble of good intentions or whether it was weighed by the other (a resigned Kaiser replaced by a certain Sebastian Bach ...)it is not known, but it does not matter as Madam X is back in the same age as the Petruci sisters (Maxine on guitar and Roxy on drums), Chris Doliber on the bass and Bret Kaiser on the microphone.Only one album in the curriculum and 33 years of pause .... is it realistic to expect something positive from this reunion? Of course, the fact that "We Reserve The Right" was great is at least a sign with the sign, but the sense of the unknown is more than justified. Of course: rejoice, celebrate, make fun, decorate the speakers of your stereo with lights and festoons, Madam Xs have burned a disc just as appetizing as his predecessor. Without much media clamor or a precious blazon to honor and defend, Madam X fighters get out of nowhere - under the auspices of EMP's Dave Ellefson and assisted by Michael Wagener (Megadeth, Metallica, Skid Row, Ozzy Osbourne) and Mark Slaughter for production and mixing - and they have 11 loudspeakers, with the recapture of the hit "High In High School", which had already been bumped in the 1984 ladder. Impressive the quality of the new record, better marked by the other in a growing with frankly unexpected quality, considering the poor premises. Nitrous Big Rocks Rolls Heavy", "Resurrection", "Die Trying", the same title track, are explosive, irresistible, power that does not know brides. There is room for a greeting even at a couple of hot stages, obviously dear to Madam X, those of Detroit (Detroit Black) and Cleveland ("Hello Cleveland"). "Bride Of Frankenstein" is a special song and sui generis, which acquires complex and heterodox nuances, to the point that it would not blasphemy bring it to some experiences vintage-occult Death SS. "Detroit Black", not only for the title, evokes echoes of Kiss, while the most romantic "Wish You Away" takes on the legacy of the Motley Crue of "Theater Of Pain". What awe Madam X is the multiplicity of personalities, the variation of tastes, the natural predisposition to space between souls and genres. Basically the backdrop is the glam / hair metal losangelino, but the Madam X pestano on the that inheritance into something damnly heavier and more robust, sometimes even languishing territories at the thrash limits. They are strong, they are powerful, they are very virile (despite the presence of two "ladies" in formation ... or maybe just for that, Roxy Petrucci is one with whom I would not argue at all!). The guitar solos often and willingly make the center, drumming is a doorway, Kaiser is an enviable interpreter, in short the amalgam works properly and there is not a single minute of this album that is worth not being listened to and appreciated . More than thirty years have passed but Madam X has no lessons to learn from anybody, so they can imitate some of them. In 2014, they reformed at the Swedish Rock Festival and apparently all intentions were but to bark and grab some gonzo with the mood of mere nostalgia. This is made of beautiful and timid metal. It does not skimp on songwriting, nor on grief, commitment, and passion. Perseverance and talent must be rewarded, and you have the opportunity at last; it's just a matter of losing some of Madam X's far-booming caliber and paying tribute to those who prove to have all the cards in place to fight on any ground. For me as the best exits of 2017.  ” - Marco Tripodi

TrueMetal.it TRUE HEAVY METAL ONLINE

Madam X Surely Delivers A Monstrocity Of A Record Formed in 1981 by sisters Roxy and Maxine Petrucci, Madam X recruited bassist Chris ‘Godzilla’ Doliber and vocalist Bret Kaiser and released their classic; Rick Derringer produced, Jet Records debut, ‘We Reserve The Right‘ in 1984, spawning the hit single ‘High in High School.’ I wasn’t sure what to expect from Monstrocity.  Was it going to be a continuation of We Reserve The Right? Monstrocity is 12 hard hitting songs that will be music to your ears.  The Michael Wagner knob job sets the tone for the Petrucci sisters to rock.  Bret Kaiser’s vocals are top notch, Chris “Godzilla” Doliber rocks the bass in “Big Rock Rolls Heavy.” Maxine’s guitar work on “Detroit Black” shows that she can work the fretboard.  Maxine also has lead vocals on “Bride of Frankenstein.”    Roxy cowbells the hell out of “Hello Cleveland.” Aside from there fun, feel-good vibe, Madam X is a band of serious musicians.  Each dedicated to their craft.  Monstrocity is an album with good sound, tone, and killer riffs!  8/10 Rating Produced by Madam X and mixed by Michael Wagener (Megadeth, Metallica, Skid Row and Ozzy) as well as additional mixing by veteran vocalist Mark Slaughter, Monstrocity is released by the EMP Label Group on CD and digital as well as limited-edition vinyl. EMP is an imprint of Megadeth co-founder and bassist, David Ellefson. ” - Andrew Catania

ALL THAT SHREDS MAGAZINE

Madam X – “Monstrocity”   By Shan Siva November 5, 2017 November 5, 2017 Reviews  Madam X – “Monstrocity” (EMP Label Group) Battle Helm Rating ***** 5 stars  With more hairspray than a L’Oréal factory and the dudes in the band sporting more make up than the chicks, Madam X successfully fell into the next generation of 80s glam metal bands following in the stack heel strut of Poison, WASP and Twisted Sister. Signed to Ozzy Osbourne’s label – Jet Records – they recorded their 1984 debut with none other than Rick Derringer before undertaking several US and UK tours, along with two MTV videos including their hit ‘High In High School’. As their egos grew bigger than their hair, the band fractured and when vocalist Bret Kaiser left to form his own namesake band, not even the presence by unknown Canadian vocalist Sebastian Bach could save the day for Madam X with drummer Roxy Petrucci departing for Vixen and Bach for Skid Row. Nothing would be heard from them until 2014 when the world famous Sweden Rock Festival managed to beckon all 4 original members to tread the stage once more. As with all recent such reunions, the response of the crowd, many of whom were original fans, along with the energy between the members soon ignited thoughts of greater possibilities – realized a few years later when the Petrucci sisters were hooked with Dave Ellefson’s label EMP thus resulting in this “Monstrocity”! Well, what can I say, there’s no more hairspray (even though there’s still hair) and gone is the street sleazy image to be replaced by a mean black leather look – and boy, the Petrucci sisters still look hot!!! Most importantly, the music itself is a shocker!! Astutely recognizing that the 80s are over as is MTV and stadium rock, the Madam X of today takes from their Detroit rock city roots to produce 12 hard hitting slabs of heavy, gutsy rock metal – and oh baby, prepared to be grinded, pummeled and have your ass majorly kicked!!!! Quite why the band never went for this style and sound back in the 80s is beyond me as they certainly didn’t need the cock rock shock with music like this. All the band members look to be in top notch physical shape and the stoked musicianship simply leaves no messing to the mind as it powers and smashes into you like a sledgehammer! Like fine, aged wine Bret Kaiser’s ballsy rock dog vocals lead on ‘Nitrous’ when he’s not being soulful like on ‘Wish You Were Away’ while 6 ft+ bassist Chris ‘Godzilla’ Doliber rams in even more power on the aptly named ‘Big Rock Rolls Heavy’. As for the Petrucci sisters, well they’re simply molten firebrands, just check out Maxine’s guitar on ‘Detroit Black’ while Roxy stomps it all over ‘Hello Cleveland’ complete with monster cow bell, while double bassing it on ‘The Rise’. Completed by an awesome sound, “Monstrocity” is an stupendous release, proving that the 80s vibe can still sound and even be relevant these days. An utterly amazing comeback. ” - Shan Siva

BATTLE HELM

The American heavy metal band Madam X are back after a long hiatus with a new album called ‘Monstrocity’, their first full length release since their debut album which came out in 1984. The band was originally formed back in 1981 by sisters Roxy and Maxine Petrucci. They remained active throughout the ‘80s before their drummer Roxy Petrucci joined the hard rock band Vixen. This album features the original line-up including the Petrucci sisters and vocalist Bret Kaiser. Resurrection seems like a fitting title for an opening track for a band returning from a long break. They are back and ready to rock your world with a brand new, energetic heavy metal tunes filled with shredding guitars and powerful vocals. Similar things can be said for the title track which really puts the emphasis on the guitars. While first few songs sound more modern, Freak Parade’sounds like it was originally written in the ‘80s. The chorus has that distinctive, cheesy 1980s style ‘glam rock’ feel to it. The glam rock influence might have something to do with the addition of Vixen’s Janet Gardner on guest vocals. Then there’s the oddly titled but highly catchy ‘Big Rock Rolls Heavy’, one of the more metal-sounding, fast tracks on the album. This would be the song to play at the start of their show to really get the crowd going. The guitar work is superb, drumming is great and the chorus is one of the most memorable ones on here. “Give me metal or give me death!” The icing on the cake is a re-recording of the band’s biggest hit High in High School which really puts a new spin on the song. In summary, I’ve had lots of fun reviewing Madam X’s latest opus. It is much heavier and more metal than I expected it to be. I like that the band is able to stay true to their roots while creating something new and exciting. Glam metal isn’t normally my thing but I really enjoyed ‘Monstrocity’. 4/5 Iza Raittila” - Iza Raittila

VALKYRIAN MUSIC

Artist: Madam X Album: Monstrocity Genre: Metal Label: EMP Label Group Release Date: October 31, 2017 Reviewed by: Bobby Caughron Review: So here’s one of the coolest releases that I’ve had come across my desk in quite a while. Why? Well, Way back in 1984 Madam X released a kick-ass metal album called “We Reserve The Right”. And then, just like that, they disappeared. So, this is their second album. So here we are 33 years later and the band pick up right where they left off.  It may have been a long wait for their sophomore follow up album, it’s a wait that was well worth it. Starting with the blazing guitar intro of “Resurrection” the band is hell bent on making their return a truly memorable one. This is a time-warp straight from the eighties and I for one absolutely love it. If you weren’t born then or just missed the single “High In High School” from their debut album, never fear, the band have included it on Monstrocity as nice tie-in.  Bret Kaiser still has the great vocals that supplies the signature sound for Madam X. I did an interview with Bret, prior to the recording of Monstrocity, which you can read here.  The Petrucci sisters are back and bring the fire with their attack of guitar and drums that are as solid as ever. Many of you probably know Roxy from the band Vixen, but Madam X is where she really got her start. And the bass is thunderous. What else can you possibly expect from a guy who goes by the name of Godzilla? Every track on Monstrocity smokes. I really like ‘The Rise” and the title track for the heavier sound that these songs bring to the album. If you remember the glorious 80’s metal reign or just wish you’d been there for it, Madam X’s Monstrocity is a fantastic reminder of how much fun heavy metal can truly be. Track Listing: 1. Resurrection 2. Monstrocity 3. Nitrous 4. Freak Parade 5. Die Trying 6. Hello Cleveland 7. Big Rock Rolls Heavy 8. Detroit Black 9. The Rise 10. Good Stuff 11. Wish You Away 12. High In High School 13. Bride Of Frankenstein Band Members: Bret Kaiser (Vocals) Maxine Petrucci (Guitar) Chris “GODZILLA” Doliber (Bass) Roxy Petrucci (Drums) http://www.madam-x.org/ https://www.facebook.com/MadamXofficial” - Bobby Caughron

XS ROCK

Madam X Monstrocity 4.30 (4) hard rock 2017 EMP Label Group studio album13 tracks Release date: October 31, 2017 http://www.madam-x.org https://www.facebook.com/MadamXofficial Edit Track listing 1. Resurrection 2. Monstrocity 3. Nitrous 4. Freak Parade 5. Die Trying 6. Hello Cleveland 7. Big Rock Rolls Heavy 8. Detroit Black 9. The Rise 10. Good Stuff 11. Wish You Away 12. High In High School 13. Bride Of Frankenstein Line-up Bret Kaiser (v) Maxine Petrucci (g) Chris Doliber (b) Roxy Petrucci (d) Other Releases: We Reserve The Right (1984) Info Legendary Detroit hard rockers Madam X have signed a deal with EMP Label Group, which will release their long-awaited sophomore release "Monstrocity" on CD and digital, with a limited edition vinyl release planned. Produced by Madam X at Metro 37 Studios in Rochester Hills, MI, and mixed by Michael Wagener (Megadeth, Metallica, Skid Row, Ozzy Osbourne), with additional mixing by Mark Slaughter, "Monstrocity" is a hard hitting classic metal/rock record sure to serve as a proper return to form for Madam X, and a kick in the ass for fans old and new. Formed in 1981 by sisters Roxy and Maxine Petrucci, Madam X recruited bassist Chris “Godzilla” Doliber and vocalist Bret Kaiser, who released their classic, Rick Derringer produced, Jet Records debut "We Reserve The Right" in 1984, spawning the hit rock single “High In High School”. Four years later, after Roxy departed to join future arena rock superstars Vixen, and original vocalist Kaiser was briefly replaced by an unknown Canadian vocalist named Sebastian Bach, Madam X disbanded, and would remain mostly inactive until 2014, when the original line-up reunited at the Sweden Rock Festival. Fast forward to 2017, when the Petrucci sisters collaborated with vocalist Mark Slaughter on a Lemmy Kilmister tribute track for their VIP Aftershow project, Slaughter who introduced Roxy to the EMP Label Group head of A&R, Thom Hazaert, who released a 12” “Kilmister” single for Aftershow, and the conversation soon shifted to the upcoming Madam X release. Says Hazaert: “When I connected with Roxy and we were working on The Aftershow stuf, and she told me they were working on a new Madam X record, I was extremely excited at the prospect of releasing it. After a brief courtship, we made the decision to put it out together and I can honestly say I’m still excited. Madam X is such a kick ass rock band, I was always a huge fan of their first record and to be able to release its follow-up over 30 years later is just insane.” Adds drummer Roxy Petrucci: "Hell may not be pretty but good things will find their way out! It takes a huge pair of metal balls to sign a band like Madam X, David Ellefson and Thom Hazaert at EMP put their love of metal first and crushed it by signing Madam X! Raw and flawed." The album features 12 hard-hitting slabs of rock, including the pummeling title track “Monstrocity”, “Resurrection”, “Nitrous” and an updated version of their 1984 hit “High In High School.” Source: EMP Label Group Videos 2 Reviews 4 KVKNovember 30, 2017 04:04 4.50 () How can one be a non-retro lover, SL? ;) Anyway, I can only agree with all the other reviews here. This is a bonafide time machine back to the sparkly eighties. Nothing more, but certainly nothing less as well. Given food for glitter & glam aficionados. The raw and meaty kind.   SLNovember 26, 2017 13:44 3.50 () If you feel like having a shot of raw, unpolished, old school US metal, you'll be happy to add Madam X's long overdue sophomore effort to your collection. To me though it's nothing more than a merely nice 45-minute time travel back to the eighties and I presume all non-retro lovers will feel the same thing. WOLF 359November 3, 2017 16:08 4.50 () A massive apology from me for my comments in my spoilers' forum piece where I slated this album. Why? Because when I gave it more time, I've fallen for its charms big time. Yes, it sounds like it was written and recorded 30 years ago, but it's all the better for that. And during its 13 songs or 12 - if you discount "High In High School" (which I think was a mistake to put on the record) - Madam X make the 30 odd years between the debut and this album melt away. Metal with melodic attitude is what's on offer, and you'd be a fool to miss out on it because of my initial thoughts about it. In the end it's a great album for fans of the 80's to enjoy. Metal MarkOctober 31, 2017 06:07 5.00 () The triumphant return of Detroit's very own Madam X is a throwback to a time when American metal was straight-up, riffs and wailing vocals. It's a thing of beauty to behold when done in its purest form. No "core" needed, this is 80s-infused metal from the heartland of the Motor City, Lead by sisters Petrucci, this band that almost coulda broke, come back swinging on "Monstrosity," 13 songs of Detroit muscle, and a welcomed thing to behold to these ears. Bret Kaiser tears the roof off with his vocals and Maxine proves she's no slouch on the 6-string. We all know Roxy, the most famous member of the band from her days in Vixen, but Madam X is the band she cut her teeth in. Overall, a very tasty return, as the Michael Wagener knob job sets the tone for a great return!  ” - Rock Radio

ROCK REPORT

Note du SoilChroniqueur (Metalfreak) : 8/10 Enfin !!! Depuis leur reformation en 2014 avec le line up d’origine et un single dans la foulée, on avait hâte d’entendre ce qu’un album allait donner. Groupe à la carrière éclair s’il en est avec un unique album en 1984 (“We reserve the Right”), puis un single “High in High School” (avec “Metal in my Veins” en face B) la même année, ce groupe qui a comporté dans son line up notamment un certain Sebastian Bach au chant (1986-1988) s’est vu splitter en 1988 avant une reformation rapide en 1991, puis disparaitre des écrans radar aussi sec. Formation devenue culte tant par la qualité de leur unique album que par la plastique des sœurs Petrucci, Madam X se reforme en 2014 pour un festival en Suède. En 2017, c’est lorsque les deux frangines s’associent à Mark Slaughter pour sortir un morceau hommage à Lemmy que les choses s’accélèrent et c’est à l’automne que sortira ce tant attendu nouvel album. Et le moins que l’on puisse dire, c’est qu’on ne se fout pas de la gueule du monde, chez les Madam X : treize titres, un peu moins de 50 minutes mais du Hard Rock bien Heavy (ou l’inverse, au choix) bourré d’énergie et surtout rien à jeter ! Madam X revient en force 33 années après leur unique méfait : il y a un paquet de reformations qui n’ont pas un résultat aussi probant. Là, pour le coup, avec ce “Monstrocity”, on nage dans le lourd : compositions qui font mouche dès la première écoute, production impeccable signée par le groupe et surtout mixée par un certain Michael Wagener (Metallica, Megadeth, Skid Row ou Ozzy Osbourne), le tout au service d’un album impeccable sur lequel rien n’est à jeter. Madam X nous balance des titres bien variés et se la joue heavy bien racé comme le bien-nommé “Resurrection”, “Monstrocity”, “Nitrous” montrant lors de son intro que Bret Kaiser peut ne rien avoir à envier à Rob Halford, ou “The Rise” particulièrement lourd, ou alors plus hard rock conventionnel avec “Freak Parade”, “Die trying”, “Hello Cleveland”, “Big Rock rolls heavy” au couplet rappelant celui du “You could be mine” des Guns n’ Roses, “Detroit Black” proche d’Alice Cooper, le vitaminé “Good Stuff” au refrain imparable, la traditionnelle ballade “Wish you away”, une version mise à jour du titre “High in High School” ou le final plus mystérieux – mais aussi plus dispensable – “Bride of Frankenstein”. Bref, plus de trente ans après leur unique album “We reserve the Right” et avec le line up d’origine, Madam X revient aux affaires d’une bien belle manière et nul doute que “Monstrocity” aura une belle place dans les albums sortis cette année. TRANSLATED:Note from SoilChroniqueur (Metalfreak): 8/10 Finally !!! Since their reformation in 2014 with the original line up and a single in the wake, we could not wait to hear what an album was going to give. Group at the blazing career if it is with a single album in 1984 ("We reserve the Right"), then a single "High in High School" (with "Metal in my Veins" in front of B) the same year, this group which featured in its line up in particular a certain Sebastian Bach singing (1986-1988) was split in 1988 before a rapid reformation in 1991, then disappear radar screens too dry. Training become cult as much by the quality of their only album as by the plastic of sisters Petrucci, Madam X is reformed in 2014 for a festival in Sweden. In 2017, when the two brothers associate with Mark Slaughter to release a tribute piece to Lemmy that things are accelerating and it is in the fall that will come out this long awaited new album. And the least we can say is that we do not care about the mouth of the world, at the Madam X: thirteen titles, a little less than 50 minutes but Hard Rock Good Heavy (or the reverse, to choose) stuffed with energy and nothing to throw! Madam X returns in force 33 years after their only misdeed: there is a package of reformations that do not have such a convincing result. Here, for once, with this "Monstrocity", we swim in the heavy: compositions that fly right from the first listening, impeccable production signed by the group and especially mixed by a certain Michael Wagener (Metallica, Megadeth, Skid Row or Ozzy Osbourne) all in the service of a flawless album on which nothing is to throw.Madam X gives us a wide variety of titles and plays it well-known as the well-known "Resurrection", "Monstrocity", "Nitrous" showing during her intro that Bret Kaiser may have nothing to envy to Rob Halford, or "The Rise" particularly heavy, or more conventional hard rock with "Freak Parade", "Die trying", "Hello Cleveland", "Big Rock rolls heavy" verse reminiscent of "You could be mine" Guns n ' Roses, "Detroit Black" close to Alice Cooper, the vitamin "Good Stuff" with the unstoppable chorus, the traditional ballad "Wish you away", an updated version of the title "High in High School" or the most mysterious finale - but also more dispensable - "Bride of Frankenstein". In short, more than thirty years after their only album "We reserve the Right" and with the original line up, Madam X returns to the business of a very beautiful way and no doubt that "Monstrocity" will have a nice place in the albums released this year.” - Willhelm von Graffenberg

SOIL CHRONICLES ROCK AND METAL WEBZINE

David Ellefson shared EMP Label Group's post. · August 24 at 2:55pm · Proud to welcome Madam X, featuring Vixen drummer Roxy Petrucci to the EMP Label Group family! Look for their new album MONSTROCITY in stores 10/31! Available for pre-order 9/1! EMP Label Group · August 24 at 12:57pm · Allouez, WI · We are extremely proud to welcome the legendary Madam X, featuring Vixen drummer Roxy Petrucci, to the EMP Label Group family! Look for their long-awaited (30+ ...years) sophomore release MONSTROCITY in stores 10/31! Available for pre-order 9-1 from empmerch.com! ----------------------------------------- LEGENDARY DETROIT HARD ROCKERS MADAM X, FEATURING VIXEN DRUMMER ROXY PETRUCCI, SIGN TO EMP LABEL GROUP. SET TO RELEASE THEIR LONG-AWAITED SOPHOMORE RELEASE MONSTROCITY OCT 31. For Immediate Release: 8/24/17 Legendary Detroit Hard Rockers MADAM X have signed a deal with EMP LABEL GROUP, who will release their long-awaited sophomore release MONSTROCITY on October 31st, (October 27th in EUROPE) on CD and Digital, with a limited edition vinyl release planned for November. Produced by Madam X at Metro 37 Studios in Rochester Hills, MI, and Mixed by Michael Wagener (MEGADETH, METALLICA, SKID ROW, OZZY OSBOURNE), with additional mixing by Mark Slaughter, Monstrocity is a hard-hitting classic Metal/Rock record sure to serve as a proper return to form for Madam X, and a kick in the ass for fans old and new. Formed in 1981 by sisters Roxy and Maxine Petrucci, Madam X recruited bassist Chris “Godzilla” Doliber and vocalist Bret Kaiser, who released their classic, Rick Derringer produced, Jet Records debut WE RESERVE THE RIGHT in 1984, spawning the hit Rock single “High in High School”. 4 years later, after Roxy departed to join future Arena Rock superstars VIXEN, and original vocalist Kaiser was briefly replaced by an unknown Canadian vocalist named Sebastian Bach, Madam X disbanded, and would remain mostly inactive until 2014, when the original lineup reunited at the Sweden Rock Festival. Fast forward to 2017, when the Petrucci sisters collaborated with vocalist Mark Slaughter on a Lemmy Kilmister tribute track for their VIP AFTERSHOW project, Slaughter who introduced Roxy to EMP LABEL GROUP head of A&R Thom Hazaert, who released a 12” “KILMISTER” single for AFTERSHOW, and the conversation soon shifted to the upcoming MADAM X release. Says Hazaert, “When I connected with Roxy and we were working on The Aftershow stuff, and she told me they were working on a new MADAM X record, I was extremely excited at the prospect of releasing it. After a brief courtship, we made the decision to put it out together, and I can honestly say I’m still excited. Madam X is such a kickass Rock band, I was always a huge fan of their first record, and to be able to release its follow up over 30 years later is just insane.” Adds drummer Roxy Petrucci, "Hell may not be pretty but good things will find their way out.!! It takes a huge pair of metal balls to sign a band like Madam X, David Ellefson and Thom Hazaert at EMP put their love of metal first, and crushed it by signing Madam X! Raw and flawed, Monstrocity will be unleashed onto the world in fall 2017! Long live Rock n Roll but immortalized in Metal! The album features 12 hard-hitting slabs of Rock, including the pummeling title track “Monstrocity”, “Resurrection”, “Nitrous”, and an updated version of their 1984 hit “High In High School.” ” - EMP/ David Ellefson

Facebook

Thursday, June 26, 2014 The Meister in Sweden 2014: The Meister Parties With New Friends! Roxy Petrucci-by Meister As I walked by the stage prior to the show I was able to grab a little of the soundcheck, eluding me to what was in store. Madam X began the day perfectly with one of the best shows that I saw in Sweden. Drummer, Roxy Petrucci (Vixen) tossed a couple of drumsticks into the crowd before the rest of the band had even made it on stage. Roxy and Maxine Petrucci make up half of the all original band membership, the stunning sisters being joined by vocalist Bret Kaiser and Chris "Godzilla" Doliber with his bass guitar. By the end of the third song selection there were pin on buttons and guitar pics heading into the audience, around song number six it was one of "Godzilla's" broken bass guitars making its way into the crowd (passed down into the front row, not Maxine Petrucci-by Meister thrown out). Wow, the budget for Madam X must be quite high I thought as shortly afterwards "Godzilla" began smashing his bass guitar off his head, drawing blood. One can only presume his anger towards the bass for drawing blood was the cause of bits and pieces of guitar flying all over the stage as he destroyed it with great overhead swings, smashing it against the stage! More buttons, pics and stick souvenirs were tossed out throughout the remainder of an awesome and exciting performance, sporting the best guitar sound I've heard yet on The Sweden Stage. Songs included: "Dirty Girls", "She's Hot Tonight", "Come One, Come All", "Cat's Got Your Tongue", "Reserve the Right to Rock", "Stand Up and Fight", "Good With Figures", "Metal in My Veins", "Another 80's Rock Song" and "High in High School". Madam X does "deserve" the right! Chris "Godzilla" Doliber & Maxine Petrucci of Madam X-photo by The Meister ” - The Meister

https://twitter.com/swedenrockfest

Madam X live @ Sweden Rock Festival 07-06-14 Sunday, 08 June 2014 14:49 | Written by Peter Grahn |  After taking most of the word by storm with their debut album “ We reserve the Right” and making a name as a wild and crazy live band, Madam X has reunited in 2014. I was on location at Sweden Rock Festival to witness if all it all were true that we had heard about the band. This is the original line up -  Roxy Petrucci - Drums Maxine Petrucci - Guitar Chris “ Godzilla” Doliber - Bass guitar Bret Kaiser - Vocals  The band have given us rather high hopes with the brand new single  “ Another 80´s rock song” I caught the sound check and I wasn´t dissapointed. Now the big question was, would the band be able to awake a hung over festival crowd at 12.15 on a Saturday? As the band entered the stage the crowd was rather exited, well the ones in the pit were anyway. And as “Come on, Come all” echoed over the fields of Norje it was quit obvious that this was going to be something special. The band is very tight and sounds awesome. And they are just as crazy as we were told in the 80´s. The many years has not done much to the band. Bret fires up the crowd with this energy, Roxy and Maxine shows just how excellent musicians they are. But just like it was in the 80´s it´s Godzilla that steals the show. The man is a maniac! He bangs his bass with his hands and head to the audience amusement. By now all of the about 2000 people in front of the stage is singing along and waving their fists and horns. If I don´t remember too badly I think 3 bass guitars had to put their life to an end just for us. And all this to the songs given to us by the band on their debut. And I actually think the band was rather surprise when they played “High in High school”, even if Bret said before they started that they know it was a big hit in Sweden, I don´t think they expected us to sing the chorus louder then the band long before the time they had a singalong in mind! And the new single? Well we learned quickly. To sum things up I think I can say as much as, Sweden Rock loves Madam X ! And I think they liked us as well.   Last Updated (Sunday, 08 June 2014 14:51) ” - Peter Grahn

Sleaze Nation

   Many 1980s bands try to cash in on former glory and play a reunion of just one or two original members. Not so with Madam X; the original lineup reunites after 30 years! This band proves there is the rare gem that still with the chemistry and magic they had from that magical era. Madam X arose out of the mean streets of Detroit in 1981 with Maxine Petrucci (guitar), Roxy Petrucci(drums), Bret Kaiser (vocals), and Chris Doliber (bass). They would relocate to NYC shortly after inking a record deal with Jet Records. Produced by Rick Derringer, they released their début album We Reserve The Right in 1984. This album spawned the cult classic High In High School. The video for the song became a favorite on MTV and resonated later on with the now infamous April 20th (4/20) observance for marijuana legalization. The band experienced various lineup changes over the years. Roxy Petrucci would leave the band to join Vixen. Doliber and Kaiser also left to pursue other projects. Fast forward to 2014 and the band, with its original classic lineup, is back! They are planning on releasing a new single, their first in decades. The new single, Another 80′s Rock Song (The Party Never Ends), was recorded at Metro 37 Studios in Rochester Hills, MI, and co-produced by Kevin Sharpe andGreg Stryker. The teaser of Another 80′s Rock Song can be heard here on SoundCloud. The announcement of the Madam X reunion has garnered much attention worldwide. The producers of the Sweden Rock Festival, scheduled for June 4-7, invited Madam X to perform. A festival lineup which includes Black Sabbath, Alice Cooper, Rob Zombie, Billy Idol, Ted Nugent, Megadeth as well as many others. Before heading off to Sweden, Madam X played a ‘one-off’ gig on May 4th, at the Diesel Concert Loungejust outside of Detroit, MI. This was their only North American appearance and this group of seasoned musicians put on a stellar and electrifying performance! Playing through an hour-long set of classics, they delivered a true rock n’ roll stage show just as riveting and rocking as if it were 1984 all over again. The classically trained sisters Roxy Petrucci (drums) andMaxine Petrucci (lead guitar) are just like a fine wine that just gets better with time and they ‘kicked ass’ all night long. One would thing they had been in a time capsule as their talents (and looks!) showed no sign of aging. Multi-octave singer Bret Kaiser sounded perfect this night. He sounded so good that it was almost as if he were in the studio laying down tracks. Chris “Godzilla” Doliber caused a minor earthquake with his rumbling bass lines. Not content with just smashing his bass on the stage he also managed to concuss himself smashing into his skull a few times, unknowingly gashing his head and still finishing out the set! Set List:Dirty GirlsShes HotCome OneCatsWe Reserve The RightStand UpDrum SoloFiguresBass Smash and Guitar SoloMetal VeinsAnother 80′S Rock SongHigh SchoolMetal Health (Quiet Riot cover) Madam X are:Bret Kaiser (Vocals)Maxine Petrucci (Guitar)Roxy Petrucci (Drums)Chris “Godzilla” Doliber (Bass)” - Mick McDonald

National Rock Review